Two Long-Time Church Retention Leaders Recognized

Karen Ferguson presenting award to Cynthia Scott.

The Cayman Islands Conference of Seventh-day Adventists (CIC) Retention department recently honoured two long-time church retention leaders, Cynthia Scott and Karen Ferguson, for their 38 and 40 years of service to the church, respectively. During the Final Camp Meeting service in Grand Cayman, Joshua Lawrence, Retention Department Director, invited both women on stage and presented them with plaques.

Lawrence shared, “Sister Scott has been integral to the Seventh-day Adventist Church for many years. She has travelled from West Bay to East End Church to attend services and events, showing a truly admirable commitment. And Sister Ferguson has been carrying out various activities in her local church to assist with retaining members and has been the right arm of the Conference retention department.”

Joshua Lawrence presenting award to Karen Ferguson

The Retention Ministry organises, trains, inspires, and strengthens individuals already within the congregation and assists the recently baptised individuals in becoming influential members who will be permanently integrated through a personal, socio-cultural, and doctrinal relationship.

At the Final Camp Meeting, both ladies were presented with personalised plaques with their names and the words “in recognition and appreciation for unwavering and dedicated Christian service to the Cayman Islands Conference of Seventh-day Adventists”. The Retention Department would like to say special thanks to the awardees and encourage them to continue to work for Jesus.

Cynthia Scott and Karen Ferguson have both shown a tremendous level of commitment to the Seventh-day Adventist Church. Their tireless efforts have had a lasting impact on their local churches and the wider CIC community. Therefore, it is fitting that the Retention Department has recognised their dedication, and we hope their example will inspire others to show the same commitment to the church.

Written by: Devarro Whittaker, Associate Television Producer.

Scroll to Top